The GSCPA House of Blogs

For the members. By the members

If You Chase Two Rabbits

Written by: Colin Blalock, The Pessimistic Optimist 

“If you chase two rabbits they both will escape. ~~ Chinese Proverb

Sometimes it is hard for me to “crank” back up after a filing deadline.  With 101 things to do I have difficulty getting myself motivated.  There is a Chinese proverb that says, “If you chase two rabbits both will escape.”   The point is that in order to work efficiently one needs to focus on the task at hand.  Fifteen years ago I started keeping a notebook listing all my activities including phone calls and voice mails.  I record my voice mail messages in purple and everything else is recorded with whatever writing instrument I have at the time.  It took me some time to get comfortable with writing it down, but now it is second nature.  I found that my chargeable time increased significantly and my ability to follow-up improved.  More importantly, staying focused helped my mental attitude and ability to complete tasks in an orderly manner.   

There is another “secret ingredient” to the equation.  Many people, including myself at times, miss it.  The missing ingredient is “hustle.”  (No, not the dance.)  You have to make a concerted effort.  “Things may come to those who wait…. but only the things left by those who hustle.”~~ Abraham Lincoln.  This saying was my screen saver for many years.  It is time to start working with a purpose.  One of the more important lessons my father taught me, by his example, was to work hard with a purpose.  “It’s not the hours you put in your work that counts, it’s the work you put in the hours.”~~Sam Ewig 

A reminder:  To this point I have recommended two books for your reading pleasure and personal growth.  They are: The Butterfly Effect by Andy Andrews and The Secret Language of Success, Using Body Language to Get What You Want by David Lewis. 

The first one you have to purchase from www.simpletruth.com.  The second one is out of print, but you can find it at www.amazon.com.  The shipping cost will be higher than the cost of the book.    

If you have trouble finding the books let me know.  I have a couple of copies of The Butterfly Effect. 

Colin

2 Comments»

  Colin wrote @

Royce:
Thanks for your comment. I really don’t think that I have ever had an original thought, but I learn very quickly from others. Many times I rush through life and do not appreciate friends, family, and the good things that happen to me. I have found that if I focus on work while working I can enjoy and appreciate personal experiences. Colin

  Royce Duncan wrote @

Colin, I enjoyed your post this week! I am envious of all the outstsanding quotes you always seem to have handy to butress your commets. I have a cat that is a prodigious
catcher of rabbits – I hope to observe him
up close sometime, and I am sure he will be an expert at staying focused on the “rabbit at hand.” Have a good weekend, and I’ll see you on Wednesday!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 58 other followers

